A year of collaboration with Swiss Philanthropy Foundation

To face the COVID-19 pandemic, the World Health Organization (WHO) launched the COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund on 13 March 2020, the only way for individuals, corporations and foundations around the world to directly support the work of WHO and partners to help countries prevent, detect, and respond to the COVID-19 pandemic, especially where needs are greatest. Money raised through the Fund can be disbursed at speed and flexibly, so it gets where it is most needed as quickly as possible.

At the request of the WHO, the Solidarity Response Fund was co-hosted by the United Nations Foundation and Swiss Philanthropy Foundation from 13 March 2020 to 13 of March 2021.

Our mission has been to collect donations in Switzerland and Europe, which are then used by the WHO and its partners to assist countries according to the WHO COVID-19 Strategic Preparedness and Response Plan (SPRP), outlining the global public health strategies to combat the COVID-19 pandemic.

Our European partners of the Transnational Giving Europe network and KBF Canada were associated and helped collect donations from European and Canadian donors.

After 12 months of activities, 662’000 donors (individuals, corporations, foundations) have participated in the global effort raising over $242 million. In Europe, $32 million have been collected through Swiss Philanthropy Foundation.

Transition to the WHO Foundation starting from 13 March 2021

Since 13 March 2021, the newly created WHO Foundation officially takes over the activities of the COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund and becomes the main agent in collaboration with the United Nations Foundation and a global network of partners. Swiss Philanthropy Foundation remains one of the global partners and is still able to receive donations.

For donors based in Europe and Canada, the Transnational Giving Europe network and KBF Canada also remain able to process donations to the WHO Foundation.

For additional information about the Fund’s current investment priorities and to find out more about donation opportunities, visit the COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund page.

Swiss Philanthropy Foundation is honored to have participated in this collective effort at the request of the World Health Organization and in collaboration with the United Nations Foundation, by facilitating donations from Switzerland, Europe and Canada to the COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund together with its partners. We are very grateful to the World Health Organization and the United Nations Foundation for their trust in this collaboration.

« Your contribution has been of utmost importance and critical in the creation and management of this novel instrument. (…) The Solidarity Reponse Fund has been a critical source of funding for WHO’s overall response. It has allowed us to impact people’s live, reach the most vulnerable groups, work with civil society organizations, engage youth, advance research, strengthen health systems, encourage vaccine uptake, among key achievements. None of this would have been possible without your support »

                                                       Dr. Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus to Swiss Philanthropy Foundation

Impact: How are donations used?

Donations to the COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund support the World Health Organization‘s (WHO) unique and essential role in coordinating, supporting and procuring global public goods. They are used by the WHO and its partners to assist and support countries according to the COVID-19 Strategic Preparedness.

The WHO called on UNICEF, the “Coalition for Epidemic Preparedness Innovations” (CEPI), the “United Nations World Food Programme” (WFP), the “Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees” (UNHCR), and the “United Nations Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees in the Near East” (UNRWA) to be partners of the Fund. Recognizing their essential role in achieving the goals of the Plan, to accelerate vaccine research and development, and to reach and support the most vulnerable communities in low-resource countries. Under the leadership of the WHO, the financial resources collected are thus allocated to the areas of greatest need and directly to the above mentioned organizations.

Impact Report

The World Health Organization regularly publishes impact reports to publicly inform on the use of fund resources and efforts by the WHO and its partners to respond to the COVID-19 pandemic, according to the COVID-19 Strategic Preparedness and Response Plan updated version for 2021-2022. Below are the latest reports:

  1. Impact report 1 : [13th March to 1st May 2020]: download here.
  2. Impact report 2 : [2nd May au 31st May 2020]: download here.
  3. Impact report 3 [1st June – 30th June 2020] : download here.
  4. Impact report 4 :[1st July – 30th September 2020]: download here.
  5. Impact report 5 : [1st October – 31st December 2020]: download here.

In addition, a progress report on the COVID-19 Strategic Preparedness and Response Plan is also available [1st February 2020 –30th June 2020] : download here.

To learn more about how the WHO and its partners use donations: Visit the page dedicated to the impact of the COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund.

 

COVID-19 Solidarity Respond Fund Donors for the WHO

We are extremely grateful for the commitment and support of every donor in this fight against COVID-19. Alongside individuals and foundations, companies are getting involved. Discover the institutional donors in Switzerland and Europe, who generously contributed in 2020 up to CHF 100’000 and more via Swiss Philanthropy Foundation.

Find all the international institutional donors who have contributed to the COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund on the dedicated page.

Learn More

For any questions and information on the COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund‘s support priorities or to make a donation, we invite you to visit the Fund’s page, or to contact the WHO Foundation directly at: covid19fund@who.foundation.

Accedere ai contenuti in italiano (Accéder aux contenus en italien)

Une année de collaboration avec Swiss Philanthropy Foundation

Pour faire face à la pandémie de COVID-19, l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS) a lancé le 13 mars 2020 le COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund, le premier et seul Fonds commun pour les individus, entreprises et fondations qui soutient le travail de l’OMS et de ses partenaires pour aider les pays à prévenir, détecter et répondre à la pandémie de COVID-19, en particulier là où les besoins sont les plus grands. L’argent collecté par le biais du Fonds peut être déboursé rapidement et avec souplesse, de sorte qu’il arrive là où il est le plus nécessaire, le plus vite possible.

À la demande de l’OMS, ce Fonds de réponse solidaire a été co-hébergé par la Fondation des Nations Unies et Swiss Philanthropy Foundation du 13 mars 2020 au 13 mars 2021.

Notre mission a été de collecter les donations en Suisse et Europe, utilisées ensuite par l’OMS et ses partenaires, pour venir en aide aux pays selon le COVID-19 Strategic Preparedness and Response Plan de l’OMS, lequel décrit les stratégies de santé publique mondiales pour combattre la pandémie de COVID-19.

Nos partenaires européens du réseau Transnational Giving Europe et KBF Canada ont été associés et ont permis de collecter les dons de donateurs européens et canadiens.

Après 12 mois d’activités, 662’000 donateurs (individus, entreprises, fondations) ont participé à l’effort mondial et plus de $242 millions ont été collectés. En Europe, ce sont $32 millions qui ont été collectés par l’intermédiaire de Swiss Philanthropy Foundation.

Transition vers la Fondation de soutien à l’OMS à partir du 13 mars 2021

En date du 13 mars 2021, la Fondation de soutien de l’OMS récemment créée prend officiellement le relai sur les activités du COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund et devient l’agent principal de collecte de dons en collaboration avec la Fondation des Nations Unis et un réseau global de partenaires. Swiss Philanthropy Foundation reste un des partenaires globaux et reste habilitée à recevoir des donations.

Pour les donateurs basés en Europe et au Canada, le réseau Transnational Giving Europe et KBF Canada restent également habilité à traiter les donations vers la Fondation de soutien de l’OMS.

Pour en savoir plus sur les priorités d’utilisation des dons et les possibilités de donations, rendez-vous sur la page du COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund.

Swiss Philanthropy Foundation est honorée d’avoir pu participer à cet effort collectif à la demande de l’OMS et en collaboration avec la Fondation des Nations Unies, en facilitant les dons depuis la Suisse, l’Europe et le Canada en faveur du COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund avec ses partenaires. Nous remercions vivement l’OMS et la Fondation des Nation Unies pour la confiance accordée dans le cadre de cette collaboration.

« Your contribution has been of utmost importance and critical in the creation and management of this novel instrument. (…) The Solidarity Reponse Fund has been a critical source of funding for WHO’s overall response. It has allowed us to impact people’s live, reach the most vulnerable groups, work with civil society organizations, engage youth, advance research, strengthen health systems, encourage vaccine uptake, among key achievements. None of this would have been possible without your support »

Dr. Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus to Swiss Philanthropy Foundation

Impact : Comment les dons sont-ils utilisés ?

Les dons en faveur du COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund soutiennent le rôle unique et essentiel de l’OMS dans la coordination, le soutien et l’approvisionnement de biens publics mondiaux. Ils sont utilisés par l’Organisation mondiale de la Santé (OMS) et ses partenaires, afin de venir en aide et de soutenir les pays selon le COVID-19 Strategic Preparedness.

L’OMS a fait appel à l’UNICEF, à la “Coalition pour les innovations en matière de préparation aux épidémie” (CEPI), au “Programme alimentaire mondial des Nations Unies” (PAM), au “Haut-Commissariat des Nations unies pour les réfugiés” (UNHCR) et à “l’Office de secours et de travaux des Nations unies pour les réfugiés de Palestine dans le Proche-Orient” (UNRWA) afin d’être partenaires du Fonds. Reconnaissant leur rôle essentiel dans la réalisation des objectifs du Plan, pour accélérer la recherche et le développement de vaccins, atteindre et soutenir les communautés les plus vulnérables dans les pays à faibles ressources. Sous la direction de l’OMS, les ressources financières collectées sont ainsi affectées aux zones les plus nécessiteuses et directement attribuées aux organisations susmentionnées.

Rapport d’impact

L’Organisation mondiale de la Santé publie régulièrement des rapports d’impact pour informer publiquement de l’utilisation des ressources du fonds et des efforts mis en place par l’OMS et ses partenaires pour répondre à la pandémie de COVID-19, conformément au COVID-19 Strategic Preparedness and Response Plan  mis à jour pour 2021-2022.Vous trouverez ci-dessous les derniers rapports :

  1. Rapport d’impact 1 [13 mars au 1er mai 2020]: à télécharger ici
  2. Rapport d’impact 2 [2 mai au 31 mai 2020]:  à télécharger ici.
  3. Rapport d’impact 3 [1er juin – 30 juin 2020] : à télécharger ici.
  4. Rapport d’impact 4 :[1er juillet – 30 septembre 2020]: à télécharger ici.
  5. Rapport d’impact 5 : [1er octobre – 31 décembre 2020]: à télécharger ici.

En outre, un rapport d’avancement du COVID-19 Strategic Preparedness and Response Plan est également disponible [1 février 2020 –30 juin 2020] : à télécharger ici.

En savoir plus sur l’utilisation des dons par l’OMS et ses partenaires : rendez-vous sur la page dédiée à l’impact du COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund.

Donateurs du COVID-19 Solidarity Respond Fund pour l’OMS

Nous sommes extrêmement reconnaissants de l’engagement et du soutien de chaque donateur dans cette lutte contre le COVID-19. Aux côtés de particuliers et fondations, les entreprises s’engagent. Découvrez les donateurs institutionnels 2020 en Suisse et en Europe, qui ont généreusement contribué, à hauteur de CHF 100’000 et plus via Swiss Philanthropy Foundation.

Retrouvez tous les donateurs institutionnels internationaux qui ont contribué au COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund sur la page dédiée.

 

En savoir plus

Pour toute question et information sur les priorités de soutien du COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund ou pour faire un don, nous vous invitons à visiter la page du Fonds, ou à contacter directement la Fondation de soutien de l’OMS à l’adresse : covid19fund@who.foundation.