A year of collaboration with Swiss Philanthropy Foundation

To face the COVID-19 pandemic, the World Health Organization (WHO) launched the COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund on 13 March 2020, the only way for individuals, corporations and foundations around the world to directly support the work of WHO and partners to help countries prevent, detect, and respond to the COVID-19 pandemic, especially where needs are greatest. Money raised through the Fund can be disbursed at speed and flexibly, so it gets where it is most needed as quickly as possible.

At the request of the WHO, the Solidarity Response Fund was co-hosted by the United Nations Foundation and Swiss Philanthropy Foundation from 13 March 2020 to 13 of March 2021.

Our mission has been to collect donations in Switzerland and Europe, which are then used by the WHO and its partners to assist countries according to the WHO COVID-19 Strategic Preparedness and Response Plan (SPRP), outlining the global public health strategies to combat the COVID-19 pandemic.

Our European partners of the Transnational Giving Europe network and KBF Canada were associated and helped collect donations from European and Canadian donors.

After 12 months of activities, 662’000 donors (individuals, corporations, foundations) have participated in the global effort raising over $242 million. In Europe, $32 million have been collected through Swiss Philanthropy Foundation.

Transition to the WHO Foundation starting from 13 March 2021

Since 13 March 2021, the newly created WHO Foundation officially takes over the activities of the COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund and becomes the main agent in collaboration with the United Nations Foundation and a global network of partners. Swiss Philanthropy Foundation remains one of the global partners and is still able to receive donations.

For donors based in Europe and Canada, the Transnational Giving Europe network and KBF Canada also remain able to process donations to the WHO Foundation.

For additional information about the Fund’s current investment priorities and to find out more about donation opportunities, visit the COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund page.

Swiss Philanthropy Foundation is honored to have participated in this collective effort at the request of the World Health Organization and in collaboration with the United Nations Foundation, by facilitating donations from Switzerland, Europe and Canada to the COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund together with its partners. We are very grateful to the World Health Organization and the United Nations Foundation for their trust in this collaboration.

« Your contribution has been of utmost importance and critical in the creation and management of this novel instrument. (…) The Solidarity Reponse Fund has been a critical source of funding for WHO’s overall response. It has allowed us to impact people’s live, reach the most vulnerable groups, work with civil society organizations, engage youth, advance research, strengthen health systems, encourage vaccine uptake, among key achievements. None of this would have been possible without your support »

                                                       Dr. Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus to Swiss Philanthropy Foundation

Impact: How are donations used?

Donations to the COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund support the World Health Organization‘s (WHO) unique and essential role in coordinating, supporting and procuring global public goods. They are used by the WHO and its partners to assist and support countries according to the COVID-19 Strategic Preparedness.

The WHO called on UNICEF, the “Coalition for Epidemic Preparedness Innovations” (CEPI), the “United Nations World Food Programme” (WFP), the “Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees” (UNHCR), and the “United Nations Relief and Works Agency for Palestine Refugees in the Near East” (UNRWA) to be partners of the Fund. Recognizing their essential role in achieving the goals of the Plan, to accelerate vaccine research and development, and to reach and support the most vulnerable communities in low-resource countries. Under the leadership of the WHO, the financial resources collected are thus allocated to the areas of greatest need and directly to the above mentioned organizations.

Impact Report

The World Health Organization regularly publishes impact reports to publicly inform on the use of fund resources and efforts by the WHO and its partners to respond to the COVID-19 pandemic, according to the COVID-19 Strategic Preparedness and Response Plan updated version for 2021-2022. Below are the latest reports:

  1. Impact report 1 : [13th March to 1st May 2020]: download here.
  2. Impact report 2 : [2nd May au 31st May 2020]: download here.
  3. Impact report 3 [1st June – 30th June 2020] : download here.
  4. Impact report 4 :[1st July – 30th September 2020]: download here.
  5. Impact report 5 : [1st October – 31st December 2020]: download here.

In addition, a progress report on the COVID-19 Strategic Preparedness and Response Plan is also available [1st February 2020 –30th June 2020] : download here.

To learn more about how the WHO and its partners use donations: Visit the page dedicated to the impact of the COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund.

 

COVID-19 Solidarity Respond Fund Donors for the WHO

We are extremely grateful for the commitment and support of every donor in this fight against COVID-19. Alongside individuals and foundations, companies are getting involved. Discover the institutional donors in Switzerland and Europe, who generously contributed in 2020 up to CHF 100’000 and more via Swiss Philanthropy Foundation.

Find all the international institutional donors who have contributed to the COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund on the dedicated page.

Learn More

For any questions and information on the COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund‘s support priorities or to make a donation, we invite you to visit the Fund’s page, or to contact the WHO Foundation directly at: covid19fund@who.foundation.

Eine einjährige Zusammenarbeit

Um der COVID-19-Pandemie zu bewältigen, hat die Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO) am 13. März 2020 den COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund eingerichtet, den ersten und einzigen gemeinsamen Fonds für Einzelpersonen, Firmen und Stiftungen, der die Arbeit der WHO und ihrer Partner unterstützt, um Ländern bei der Prävention, Erkennung und Reaktion auf die COVID-19-Pandemie zu helfen, insbesondere dort, wo der Bedarf am größten ist.  Das Geld, das durch den Fonds gesammelt wird, kann schnell und flexibel ausgezahlt werden, damit es so schnell wie möglich dort ankommt, wo es am meisten benötigt wird.

Auf Anfrage der WHO wird dieser Solidarity Response Fund vom 13. März 2020 bis zum 13. März 2021 gemeinsam von der United Nations Foundation und Swiss Philanthropy Foundation unterstützt.

Unsere Mission war es, in der Schweiz und in Europa Spenden zu sammeln, die dann von der WHO und ihren Partnern verwendet werden, um den Ländern gemäß dem WHO COVID-19 Strategic Preparedness and Response Plan zu helfen, der die globalen Strategien der öffentlichen Gesundheit zur Bekämpfung der COVID-19-Pandemie beschreibt.

Unsere europäischen Partner aus dem Netzwerk Transnational Giving Europe und KBF Kanada waren zusammen verbunden und halfen, Spenden von europäischen und kanadischen Spendern zu sammeln.

Nach 12 Monaten Aktivität haben sich 662’000 Spender (Einzelpersonen, Unternehmen, Stiftungen) an der weltweiten Aktion beteiligt und mehr als $242 Millionen wurden gesammelt. In Europa wurden $32 Millionen durch Swiss Philanthropy Foundation gesammelt.

Übergang zur WHO Foundation ab dem 13. März 2021

Ab 13. März 2021 werden offiziell die Aktivitäten des COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund von der neu gegründeten WHO Foundation übernommen, die in Zusammenarbeit mit der United Nations Foundation und einem globalen Netzwerk von Partnern die Führung beim Geldsammeln übernimmt. Swiss Philanthropy Foundation bleibt einer der globalen Partner und ist weiterhin berechtigt, Spenden aus der Schweiz zu erhalten.

Für Spender aus Europa und Kanada bearbeiten das Netzwerk Transnational Giving Europe und KBF Canada auch weiterhin Spenden an die WHO Foundation.

Um mehr über Spendenmöglichkeiten zu wissen, besuchen Sie die Seite des COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund.

Swiss Philanthropy Foundation fühlt sich geehrt, dass sie auf Anfrage der WHO und in Zusammenarbeit mit der United Nations Foundation an dieser kollektiven Anstrengung teilnehmen konnte, indem sie Spenden aus der Schweiz, Europa und Kanada an den COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund mit seinen Partnern ermöglichte. Wir danken herzlich der WHO und der Stiftung der Vereinten Nationen für das Vertrauen, das uns durch diese Zusammenarbeit gegeben wurde.

« Your contribution has been of utmost importance and critical in the creation and management of this novel instrument. (…) The Solidarity Reponse Fund has been a critical source of funding for WHO’s overall response. It has allowed us to impact people’s live, reach the most vulnerable groups, work with civil society organizations, engage youth, advance research, strengthen health systems, encourage vaccine uptake, among key achievements. None of this would have been possible without your support »

                                                       Dr. Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus to Swiss Philanthropy Foundation

Wirkung: Wie werden die Spenden verwendet?

Spenden an den COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund unterstützen die einzigartige und wichtige Rolle der WHO bei der Koordinierung, Unterstützung und Bereitstellung globaler öffentlicher Güter. Sie werden von der Weltgesundheitsorganisation (WHO) und ihren Partnern eingesetzt, um die Länder gemäß der COVID-19 Strategic Preparedness zu unterstützen und zu helfen.

Die WHO hat UNICEF, die “Coalition for Innovations in Epidemic Preparedness” (CEPI), das Welternährungsprogramm der Vereinten Nationen (WFP), das “Hoher Flüchtlingskommissar der Vereinten Nationen” (UNHCR) und das “Hilfswerk der Vereinten Nationen für Palästina-Flüchtlinge im Nahen Osten”(UNRWA) als Partner für den Fonds aufgerufen. In Erkenntnis ihrer wesentlichen Rolle bei der Erreichung der Ziele des Plans, bei der Beschleunigung der Forschung und Entwicklung von Impfstoffen und bei der Erreichung und Unterstützung der am stärksten gefährdeten Gemeinschaften in ressourcenschwachen Ländern. Unter der Leitung der WHO werden so die gesammelten finanziellen Mittel in die Gebiete mit dem größten Bedarf und direkt an die oben genannten Organisationen verteilt.

Wirkungsbericht

Die Weltgesundheitsorganisation veröffentlicht regelmäßig Wirkungsberichte, um die Öffentlichkeit über die Verwendung der Fondsressourcen und die von der WHO und ihren Partnern unternommenen Anstrengungen zur Reaktion auf die COVID-19-Pandemie zu informieren, in Übereinstimmung mit dem aktualisierten COVID-19 Strategic Preparedness and Response Plan für 2021-2022. Nachfolgend finden Sie die neuesten Berichte:

  1. Wirkungsbericht 1 [13. März – 1.Mai 2020]: hier downloaden.
  2. Wirkungsbericht 2 [ Mai – 31.Mai]:  hier downloaden.
  3. Wirkungsbericht 3 [ Juni – 30. Juni 2020] : hier downloaden.
  4. Wirkungsbericht 4 :[1. July – 30. September 2020]: hier downloaden.
  5. Wirkungsbericht 5 : [1. October – 31. Dezember 2020]: hier downloaden.

Außerdem ist ein Fortschrittsbericht zum COVID-19 Strategic Preparedness and Response Plan verfügbar [1. Februar 2020 – 30. Juni 2020]: hier downloaden.

Erfahren Sie mehr darüber, wie die Spenden von der WHO und ihren Partnern verwendet werden: Besuchen Sie die Wirkungsseite des COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund.

COVID-19 Solidarity Respond Fund-Geber für die WHO

Wir sind sehr dankbar für das Engagement und die Unterstützung jedes Spenders im Kampf gegen COVID-19. Neben Einzelpersonen und Stiftungen engagieren sich auch Firmen. Entdecken Sie die institutionellen Spender in der Schweiz und Europa, die über Swiss Philanthropy Foundation großzügig CHF 100.000 und mehr gegeben haben.

Alle internationalen institutionellen Spender, die zum COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund beigetragen haben, finden Sie auf der entsprechenden Seite.

Mehr Information

Für Fragen und Informationen zu den Förderschwerpunkten des COVID-19 Solidarity Response Fund oder um eine Spende zu machen besuchen Sie bitte die Seite des Fonds, oder wenden Sie sich direkt an die WHO Foundation unter: covid19fund@who.foundation.